my intensity

My intensity is not obvious

It will not jump at you at a glance

It cannot be read on my forehead at a meet
I have wrapped it in clothing
I value it more than i value anything in my life
It is my self-respect and my resilience
It is the definition of my true self
 
My intensity is my soft parts
The places that make me swoon and quiver
The words that make me tear at the thought
The one thing that can be used to make or break me
It belongs to me alone
I expect you not, to understand it
Nor to accept it
But you must respect it
It is the definition of my true self
 
My intensity is the lump at the base of my throat
It is the tightness around the walls of my heart
It is the bags of restlessness under my eyes
It is despair and helplessness when i look in the mirror
It is not an over-reaction
It is not a desire to take things too seriously
It is the person within me, being me
It is the definition of my true self
 
My intensity is my pride
It is the strength i feel in the pit of my stomach
It is the reason i survive every fall
It is the wakening voice in my head when i succumb to slumber
It is my Thor’s mallet
And i wield it with pride and honour
I will not let it go 
It is a picasso depiction of the person within
It is the definition of my true self
Leave a Reply

